Facts are stubborn things. They cannot be altered by our wishes, our inclinations, or the dictates of our passion.

The author claims that facts cannot be changed by personal inclinations and emotions. In my view, except those facts established on the erroneous bases, in general, it cannot be changed merely through personal feeling.

I concede that an ostensible fact that is derived from inaccurate process sometimes may be modified by evidences from more advance or precise observation. These kind of events usually happen in the area of academic. In the medieval time, the earth once be deemed as the center of the universe. Because the “fact” that people got from their imprecise observation: moon, stars, and the sun are orbited around us. Yet the new discovery from the modern instruments show that the earth just one of planets orbiting the sun.

However, facts are the objective and substantial things that underlying our society and knowledges. Considering the area of science. Our profound and sound scientific basis is undergirded by a series of facts that come from innumerable observations by scientist in the history. These recognized facts have been tested and substantiated by many erudite people, it cannot be discarded or objected merely by the personal feeling or inclination. For example, some people don’t believe in that the earth is round for their individual propensity no matter from their instincts or religious beliefs. However, the fact that that earth is round is still valid since it has been held by various evidences from clear pictures taken from outer space to sailor’s real experiences. Once these scientific fact can be altered easily by one’s love or hate, then our area of science will be defunct.

Facts also are concrete that can be used as the judgement by the police. In the criminal case, every suspects may claim that they are innocent, they may claim they didn’t present at the venue. However, the objective facts such as camera records, finger prints, or DNA residue can be a potent things to convict suspects. By contrast, if a police man can dictate the guilt of suspects by their arbitrary preferences from their stereotype, such as that stray people are more susceptible for stealing or that people with tattoo tend to robber, them the equity and objectiveness of judicial system will collapse.

To sum up, the facts form the basis not only of our knowledge but of the order in the society. A fact can only be undermined by more accurate and advance truth but not by individual inclination.