The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporary.

The value of a person may vary throughout time, in this sense, the speaker claims that the greatness of people cannot be evaluated by their coeval but only can be decided in their afterlife. In my view, since standards evaluating a person or an occupation are different, this assertion should be analyze separately.

To begin with, the value in the field of science, which are judging by their contribution to the scientific world can be decided by their contemporary. In scientific realm, the achievements of a person is objective and explicit, there are few blur areas that are controversial to reevaluate in different era. To be specific, achievement of a scientist are largely depends on their discovery of a fact or a valuable theory, which has experienced rigorous scrutiny from their peers to ensure the validity; and thus it can withstand through time and remain constant. For example, the Einstein’s general relativity won its prestige a hundred year ago, still, the predictions and ideas in this theory still amaze today’s people: the effect of time inflation is taken into consideration in modern GPS system and the prediction of existence of gravitational wave were discovered recently. In short, in the value in the area of science vary little through time, hence, the greatness of a person this area can be define by their coeval.

On the other hand, when it comes to the value of moral, greatness of people can hardly be decided only by their contemporary. The judgment related to moral is subjective, which is disparate from times, or even vary from person to person. Consider that how people judged a woman in ancient society of China. The woman are told to comply to the rule of their husband, stay quiet, humility, and pure, all these obedient property are deemed as a corner stone underlying a “honorable” woman. By contrast, women who are more admirable today if they are brave to communicate their opinion, having unique and distinct styles, which is a far cry from previous generation. In this view, when judging moral value of a person, it’s bias and dogmatic to impost an evaluation on he or she, thus, it is unsuitable to decide the value of people by their contemporary.

Furthermore, in the field of politics, due to the fact that a ramification of a policy is usually only can perceived through time, it is also more cogent to assess a person’s greatness after their lives. The benefits of some prospective measures or projects done by politician at the time need time to be substantiated, thus, the evaluation from contemporary people may be unfair. For example, the project of constructing high way in Taiwan fifty years ago were blame by many people because at that time, few people owned a car and the project was deemed as a waste. However, in modern Taiwan, people will say it is one of a worthiest thing that has done by the politician, the usage rate and the convenience of the highway is undoubtable.

In sum, whether or not the greatness of a person should be decided after their life? The answer depends on the aspects and fields. In the realm of science, a achievement of a scientist usually is incontrovertible no matter from the prospect of the contemporary or the descendants; while in the aspect related to moral value or politic, the value will be different in different time, thus its more compelling to make a assertion after one’s life.