Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children's education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

We have lived in a quite different world compared to previous generation. When it comes to education, people may feel that parents today spend less time in teaching their children. In my view, I maintain that this observation is true. The reasons are provided as follow.

To begin with, since the growing trend of educational facilities, parents nowadays devolve large portion of their educational responsibility to those facilities. Compared to few decades ago, when people lived in less-developed society, our modern lives are filled with various companies that are in charge of teaching new skills or reinforce the academic performance for students. For example, we can easily find the corresponding schools if a child wants to learn piano, checker, calculation, and so on. What's more, the most prominent academic institutes are cram school in Taiwan, which provides students with versatile of programs for intensifying the subjects in their school, including mathematics, science, or English. With the appearance of these facilities, they largely substitute the parents work for educating their children, and consequently, the time parents spent on their children's education become lesser.

Besides, the increasingly busy life in modern society has diminished the time of parents companying their children. With the transition of the society, jobs have changed from the agricultural related task to more intense and more competitive form. To illustrate, if parents work in factory, they need to take the night shift or to be on-call because the manufacturing lines process for twenty-four hours. In this sense, the time that should be remained for their children decrease. On the other hand, people usually face enormous pressure to preserve their competitiveness-edge in our society of globalization. To be specific, if one work in the company such as Facebook, they may find they are competing with a range of opponents: from Chinese their native corporation, Microsoft to the foreign one like Baidu. Not only parents work late in daily basis but also they need do over-time work during weekend. As a result, the time for tutoring their children will be miniscule.

To sum up, today parents spend less time on children's education. There are two main reasons that cause this phenomena: increasing educational facilities and the much more hectic lives of modern people.