Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Parents today are more involved in their children’s education than were parents in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no shortage of opinion on parent's involvement in child's education in the modern day. However, in my opinion, I believe that today's parent are more aware about their children's education compared to earlier generation, which is why I agree with the prompt. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First of all, current generations parents are more aware about education than the earlier generations. My personal experience is a great example of this. My mother could never complete her education because of political reasons. She always wanted to study engineering and was very smart, but due to the conditions she couldn't continue. However, she always looked after my studies and taught me a lot. She always knew what I was good at and what were my weakest points and helped me on those. For example, I am great at public speaking, which I wouldn't have been if she didn't recognize my ability. For this reason, I feel parents today are more aware about the importance of education.

Secondly, parents today are more educated and more socially active. They know what's new in the world and what's best for their children. Drawing from my family's experience. When my brother's son was 3, he started learning all kinds of things as its better to learn a lot during your young age. All the classes gave the parents an idea of what their children did today and what did he learn. This helps parents to teach them the same thing with a familiar or live example, which my brother and his wife did. It's certainly clear to see how being more educated and socially-aware helped the parents focus on their children more.

In light of the reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that present actions of today's parent are more driven towards children's education than to anything else. This is because parents today are more aware, educated and socially-active.