Question Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

A person should never make an important decision alone.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples

Some people thing that important decisions should be made alone and without taking other's opinion on the topic, probably because getting a difference of opinion will confuse them and will lead them to take a wrong decision. However, I disagree with this stance for the following three reasons.

First of all, involving more people in a decision making process is really beneficial and helps in many ways possible. For example, when my brother cleared high school, he had the biggest question of his life lying in front of him. Which stream should he select?. He was very sure that he wanted to pursue engineering as a career, but he want to know a bit more about it. After talking, to a lot of friends, family members, teachers, and seniors he started getting confused about his decision. After a long discussions with everyone again he finally set his mind and decided to become a chartered accountant, which he is very successful at right now. This is a perfect example of getting expert advice while taking any decisions. If he would have taken the decision alone he would have probably taken engineering which really wasn't his strong suit, which he realized after all the discussions.

Second of all, getting other's opinion gives you a sense of clarity about your decision. For example, while taking any decision that has two options you should usually write the pros and cons of both of them, but that is not enough you need to understand both the options in depth according to your needs because something that might have worked out for someone else won't necessarily work out for you. Any decision you take should be highly based on your comfortable and your lifestyle and not someone else. However, sometimes taking a decision that your friends or family members have taken can help you but that can happen once in a blue moon and you can't base all your decision on them. Understanding and being sure about the decision you are taking is very vital.

Finally, while taking a decision you should not be influenced by the benefits of a certain decision. For example, if you are uncertain of what to decide between two options you shouldn't decide them using some impractical means. Just because your one decision will get you to a position you will get paid a lot doesn't mean that it is the safest option or the best option for you. Considering all the possibility before finalizing on a decision is necessary.

In conclusion, because taking a decision alone can result in some undesired results, it is my contention that decisions should never be taken alone.