Humanity has made little real progress over the past century or so. Technological innovations have take place, but the overall condition of humanity is no better. War, violence, and poverty are still with us. Technology cannot change the condition of humanity.

As we can see in our daily news on the Internet or televisions, which are the outcome of our technological innovation, many humanity crisis are still acting on many areas. Therefore, the speaker here claim that humanity has little improvement despite the success of our technology today. In my view, although those humanity problems still exist, I cannot agree the assertion that we have little progress on humanity.

I concede that the humanity crisis does not be eradicated today. There are a part of people living under poverty line, struggling in cramped environments and a life of privation. Also, in some regions, there are still in the warfare, where people suffering from relentless attacks everyday. From these evidences, we should not denied that there are a many things that we can do and improve. However, is the situation is as worse as the speaker’s claim- that we made little progress? As far as I know, this claim is too extreme.

The first thing I want to defense for the humanity improvement starts from the comparison between the our generation and the previous one. Historically, warship happened regularly and frequently; in previous century, human beings experience two world war, which account for innumerable fatality, in just few decades. But, when we focus on this century, the world is experience unprecedented peace and prosperity. What’s more, in the past, the disease caused wide spread deaths and pain; such as small pox and black death. By contrast, with the improvement of hygienics, medical facility, and the invention of vaccines, people nowadays are living in happiness and health.

Besides, the progress of human society also makes many activity of charity possible. On one hand, the problem of starvation is, to some extent, relieved by globalization. With the advance of aero industry, wealthy country or the countries proliferating in agriculture can donate and ship their food resources the the regions in need. On the other, the empathy, an outgrowth of prosperity in some countries brought by the improvement of the technology, has spurred people participate in volunteering activities. For example, many doctors have gone to poor region to help people conquer the diseases and broadcasting the hygienic information; the organizations which help less development countries to build their infrastructures are mushrooming all over the world.

In sum, the speakers claim is overly pessimistic. Even though many humanity problems still exist, but it doesn’t mean it has no progress. From the evidences I showed above, we can see the humanity issue in modern society is improved much better than before.