It is the artist, not the critic, who gives society something of lasting value.

The author claims that the artist endows persistent value in the society which cannot be done by critic. In my view, I basically agree with this idea. In general, critics, whose works largely depend on artists, cannot provide society with things of lasting value. I will show my analysis below.

To begin with, critics’ opinions toward the same art work can vary overtime, and therefore cannot produce a long lasting value. The criticism from critics is subjective, it is elicited from critics’ personal thought: including the way they perceive the world, their inclination, even their own bias, which vary among generations. To illustrate, Van Gogh, in his life time, his paintings did not fit the value of contemporary critics and did not appreciated by contemporary people and critics - as a result, only one art work was sold in his life time. After he died, however, critics values changed so that they are fascinated by his unique manner that depicts the flow of light. Finally, his paintings win the popularity and are still honored by people today.

Furthermore, the criticism merely an auxiliary work accompanied arts. Critics acts as a role that helps interprets the content of art work. That is, the main works of critics is that to utilize their skills to analyze the details and present their insights to the public. It is largely depends on the art works they focus on. This efforts are not original and cannot be a long lasting value. On the other hand, the things that artists create are rife of originality: the style of a painting, the gusto of a novels, the views of sculptures can be creative and thus passing through history.

However, although critics are lack of original values that can last through generation by itself, it can still have long lasting influences through history. First, critics can influence art works. Artists assimilate suggestions from critics then produce and consummate their works. Second, critics can bring new aspects and insights to the public. The same works can be appreciated in different aspects, and these new angles of artwork can be passed to future. In this way, the thought of critics can integrate into or accompany artists’ work thus perpetuate through history.

In sum, owning to the different role of artists and critics, to large extend, only artists can produce long-lasting values. Nevertheless, critics can indirectly influence artists and art work then their thought can pass through generations.