Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive, because it is primarily in cities that a nation’s culture traditions are preserved and generated.

There is no doubt that reserving traditional cultural and developing unique style of a nation is important. To do so, the speaker of the argument describes that governments should mainly focus on the major cities and ensure it receive adequate financial support. To some extent, we cannot refute the important role of spreading and maintaining the traditional culture that major cities do; however, I assert that we need to put our attention more on the peripheral cities.

I concede that the major city is the representative of a country, it act as an irreplaceable to propagate and maintain the traditions and unique things of the country. Firstly, the main city is usually a hive of activity that a wide range of foreign people living, working or traveling. Therefore, a country’s unique properties and traditional practices can be perceived by global people. More people knowing these traditional things, the less chance it will disappear in the future. Second, most the tourists just visit the major city in their limited traveling time without traveling to other places. Hence the facilities in the main city are those places can impress people most. For example, the museum can present a great amount of antiques that represent a country’s culture, or the exhibitions or performances which are held in the major city are able to tout the speciality of the country. Thus, it is necessary to offer some portions of budget to thrive.

On the other hand, there are two reasons that governments should appropriate more financial support to peripheral cities than the main city. First, rural sites exist more pure culture of a country. The main city is usually highly modernized, the thoughts, practices and conventions are blended with those came from other places. Therefore, compared to major city, the rural cities have higher chance persevere the original and unique part of the region. To illustrate, the extant aboriginal tribes usually exist in rural areas. The traditional rituals and their unique cultural practices are still performed in their lives. These things are precious heritages of culture and are imperative need effort to be preserved.

Furthermore, the budget of major city is more often than not abundant and financial status of rural cities are usually stringent. The major city has a wide range of resources to sustain their financial needs. The dense population of major city boosts a lot of economical activities, the thrive of tourism brings affluence of income to the city. Instead, in the other cities, they are lack of those advantages: they are less population to spur the economic activities, the transportation system are not well-establish to bring consumers to the city and expanding money. Gradually, the local people will abandon their unique but not practical lifestyle and embrace the modern way in order to survive, then the traditional cultural defunct. Thus, it is necessary for government to give the financial support to maintain the traditional life style and things outside the main city.

To sum up, although main city serve an important role to spread a nation’s unique culture, it is more urgent and more needed to support the cities other than major city. Not only in the rural cities preserve more primordial things of a region, but the cultural there are endanger since lacking of adequate money.