As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and more mysterious.

The speaker claims that things become increasingly incomprehensible with the accumulation of knowledge. From my point of view, although things of our daily lives are ostensibly more sophisticated, one cannot assert that they are more mysterious.

I concede that the database of human’s knowledge is becoming larger, hence it confuses a lot of ordinary people. The achievement of civilization today is base on the continuously effort of elites in previous generation, therefore, it is inescapably the knowledge we need to learn today is more dense and broad compared to the previous generation. To be specific, thousands years ago, the things that our ancestors need to learn are restricted to rudimentary skill, such as hunting skills or the knowhow of that how to make stone tools. Instead, in the modern society, it is necessary for people not only learning those practical skills, namely, driving, cooking, repairing, and so on, but also acquiring theoretical knowledge such as mathematics and science. Hence, it makes an illusion for people to reckon that today’s world is more complex and mysterious.

However, natural world is actually more understandable thanks to the knowledgable heritage from our forebears. On one hand, by understanding the truth behind the natural phenomena, we humans now have the ability to predict the natural events and benefit ourselves in many ways. In the ancient time, people are suffering from the flux of the weather, which cause flooding and aridity. In the that time, people merely could attribute these disastrous events to the supernatural cause. However, in virtue of the development of meteorology, we humans can build the scientific model to predict the weather pattern, and thus avoid baleful events from happening.

On the other hands, the technology that comes along with the understanding of the nature, we can even manipulate it. To illustrate, the flooding water, which is the source of disaster, now can be control to drive the hydropower plants. Furthermore, the light is once considered as a boon that natural god gives to us; now from the knowledge we accumulate through generations, we know they are the oscillation of electronic-magnetic field and thus can generate it by ourselves and thus achieve the telecommunication of cellphones, satellites, and radios. The things I mentioned above epitomize the thought that our world is actually more lucid and controllable.

To sum up, at the first glance, because of the great amount of knowledge we have today, many people will claim that the world is too complex to understand. Nevertheless, in many aspects of the modern life, we human can understand, predict, and manipulate the natural, it is definitely the epitomization of understanding of natural world.