"As we acquire more knowledge, things do not become more comprehensible, but more complex and more mysterious"

Knowledge is nothing but information or data acquired through the course of a person's life. Having basic knowledge about the day to day activities makes life easier and this knowledge never gets complex. Well the given issue has been discussed from different point of views in the succeeding paragraphs.

The issue mentioned above states that gaining information about something is directly proportional to increase in its complexity. Which might be true in some of the cases. For example, up until 50 years ago scientists considered Atom to be the smallest element. But after years of research and cutting open the atom, the element smaller than atom was discovered. One can definitely say that this discovery changed the understanding of the universe.

There are still several unsolved mysteries in the world like the Bermuda triangle and Black hole. Research is still going on for these mysteries, but nothing conclusive. Scientists have gathered tons of information on such cases and the more they gain about them the more complex it gets to solve the mystery.

On the other hand in cases like a child learning to walk and talk would not have much to learn. Most of the knowledge gained by him would be by observing the adults around him and no matter how much he learns it will not get more complicated than just walking and talking.

Thus, in light of the above it is clear that the statement holds true for certain cases where the deeper one digs the more information one receives about it. When there is nothing new to learn about something, they just stay simple and comprehensible.