The following appeared as part of the Dean’s newsletter:

"The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts."

The author of the argument contends that students of the University of Wabash will practice a community service, and that this concept will help local charities with their efforts to support local communities as well as this practice gives students a fantastic opportunity to give back to the communities and gain real-world experience. He or she provides the following as evidence to support his or her claims; the fact that every university should produce well-rounded and charitable members of cociety, and that Dean's office will maintain a list of all the approved local charities. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed, as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, the author fails to assure us if the community service requirement would be beneficial for both undergraduate and graduate students. Perhaps, it would be helpful only for the graduate students, because they are closer to real-world problems. He or she should have cited that according to specific surveys and other accurate data, community service appears to be beneficial for both graduate and undergraduate students. Also, the spokesperson two hastily declares that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. As we know, there are some universities that prepare people for the business and corporate world and thus they ignore or diminish charitable actions. The author should have stated that among all other objects and between the different universities, they should promote charitable and social actions in order for our societies to prosper and thrive.

Moreover, the fact that 8 hours per month for a total of 9 months of community service as presented fails to convince us about the validity and effectiveness of that measure. Perhaps, 8 hours are not enough or even the period of 9 months is too long. The arguer should have quoted detailed information about the potential schedule in order for the readers to accept its validity. In addition, the fact that Dean's office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website is scant and lacks substantiation. Nothing ensures that these actions are enough for the students to contact the charities and be accepted. The author of the argument should have quoted that local charities do not accept other methods of contact rather than their website and e-mails.

Also, although the proposed community service may constitute a excellent opportunity for students to gain real-world experience in could make them ignore their studies. The spokesperson needs to provide accurate data about the correlation between community service and hours of lectures. Only by that the readers could be sure that the students' grades are not likely to be affected negatively. Finally, we are given no indication what local charities really need and thus we cannot accept that the students' practice is the most positive contributor. Perhaps, they need more funds or other legislation.

The argument is weak, since neither is the conclusion sound, nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but is its absence it sound indefensible.