Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance

The issue of whether teacher’s salaries should be based on their student’s academic performance has engendered controversy and can be divided into two schools of thought. On the one hand staunch defenders support that concept, as it is merely related to the laws of the free market. On the other hand, opponents contend that such a concept creates more negatives than positives and should be rejected. Were I in such an ambiguous position whether to agree or disagree, I would support the latter argument sound, even though, the former one has some positive attributes.

First and foremost, there are many different contributing factors to the whole educational process that affect the students’ performance. Indeed, into this convoluted system of learning, teachers may seem those who lead the efforts, but they are not the only ones or those with the main role. For example, the family background of each child, his or her environment of living, the mental health and even the level of education and income of the parents. All of the aforementioned constitute different elements that would have a detrimental impact on the academic performance of the students.

Therefore, the ability of any teacher and his or her zeal to educate children could easily be undermined.

Additionally, even if we accept that teacher’s salaries have more to do with the academic performance of their students, subsequently we accept that a division exists between high-paid and low-paid teachers. Admittedly, there will be schools and classrooms only for academically weak children, whose teachers are found in the lower scales of the educational payroll, and similarly other schools only with well-paid teachers. In particular, this phenomenon will create socio-economic problems inside the learning division, as we undoubtedly accept schools of two visions. Hence, that concept will intensify any professional discriminations and totally underestimate the prolific role of the teachers.

According to the other school of thought, the laws of free economy suggest that the more productive someone performs, the higher his or her earnings should be. Certainly, this idea should also be attested to the learning community, as it usually promotes integrity and hard-working mores. Nonetheless, at a first point it might seem fair and impartial, it foments many dangers. For instance, in public schools there is a range of academic performances of students inside the same classroom and every attempt to do better and go one step further could easily collapse. Weak students with limited intellectual strength, have the ability to decimate the overall performance of the classroom even when they are in small numbers, overshadowing any efforts and positive results.

In conclusion, teachers’ salaries should primarily be modified according to other factors such as years in service, experience and academic background. This would constitute a fair comparison between professionals of the learning community, bolstering the same time their role and reputation. However, in some cases teachers that achieve great results, in reference to the academic performance of their students, would be productive to be awarded. Such an action should have a rewarding and temporary role instead of an ingrained right.