As public concern over drug abuse has increased, authorities have become more vigilant in their efforts to prevent illegal drugs from entering the country. Many drug traffickers have consequently switched from marijuana which is bulky or heroin which has a market too small to justify the risk of severe punishment to cocaine. Thus enforcement efforts have ironically resulted in an observed increase in an illegal use of cocaine.

The author of the argument contends that enforcement efforts have actually failed to control the illegal use of cocaine, although public concern over drug abuse has increased and authorities have become more vigilant in their efforts to prevent illegal drugs from entering the country. He or she cites as evidence to support his or her claims the fact that many drug traffickers have switched from marijuana and heroin to cocaine, justifying the risk of severe punishment. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed, as it is based upon questionable assumptions.

First and foremost, the author quotes that public concern over drug abuse has increased, without providing any relevant information. We have no indication on the actual increase and where does it result from. He or she should have stated the accurate numbers of the increase, adding the contributing factors that have possibly led to such an effect. Moreover, the arguer fails to convince us about the way authorities have become vigilant in their efforts to prevent illegal drugs from entering the country. The authorities are likely to do little on evading the drugs from entering the country. He or she should have presented more information and statistics about the potential efforts adopted by the authorities. Without any detailed representations, the assumption is scant and lacks validity.

Secondly, the author too hastily concludes that drug traffickers have switched from marijuana to cocaine because the former one is bulky, and from heroin to cocaine due to the fact that heroin has a market too small. Many variables enter into the equation. Perhaps, many parts of the country have legitimized the use of marijuana and as a result, traffickers have seen their profits plunged. Furthermore, heroin users are likely to have reduced their doses, replacing them with cocaine because its price has dropped significantly. Also the concept that risk punishment is the same severe for all drugs is unwarranted since cocaine may have far stricter legislation than heroin and marijuana. In order to accept the effectiveness of the arguer’s claims, he or she should have quoted that among all other reasons studied, the fact that marijuana is bulky and heroin has a small market, the traffickers have switched to cocaine.

Finally, the spokesperson fails to ensure us that enforcements efforts have ironically resulted in an observed increase in an illegal use of cocaine. It is likely that all these efforts are at the very beginning of their operations and preparing their plan, according to which they will act to eradicate every illegal drug from the country. The arguer should have quoted that after a series of efforts, such as implementation of technological equipment in the borders, intelligence services and border patrolling, the law enforcement efforts have totally failed in their scope to reduce illegal drugs from entering the country.

The argument is weak, since neither is the conclusion sound, nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its absence it sounds indefensible.