"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

The author of the argument contends that students should be educated at computer programming while in high school, because all industries are becoming more technological and they would need people deeply adapted in technology. He or she provides the following as evidence to support his or her claims: firstly, that the future will be dominated by technology and therefore mandatory four year classes should be implemented, secondly that software engineers and data scientists are always in demand. The reasoning of the argument is totally flawed, as it is based upon unsubstantiated assumptions.

Firstly, the author fails to convince us that the four years of mandatory computer programming classes are enough for high school students to be trained. Perhaps, the specific aspect is too short, and more years should be issued, or even too big and two or three years of classes are enough. He or she should have presented more accurate data and details, such as surveys and statistics conducted by renowned universities, in order for the readers to accept the effectiveness and validity of his or her claims.

Secondly, the fact that students will complete these courses does not necessary approve that they will secure high-paying programming jobs and fulfilling lives as mentioned. That represents more a positive correlation rather than a casual connection. The programming jobs are likely not be high paying, because there will be a big number of people with the same programming capabilities, something that would inevitably lead to lower salaries. The spokesperson should have quoted specific results and aspects, for instance about the real-market conditions and the numbers of people and the potential jobs, in order for him or her to ensure the public about his or her claims.

In addition, it is too hastily presented that education is the only factor that will help students to secure the aforementioned high-tech jobs. Perhaps, other measures should be implemented, for instance more funding for the creating of programming laboratories and hubs in the city centers nationwide. The author of the argument should have cited that among all other measures available, education is the most important contributor for students to secure hich-paying programming jobs.

Finally, the fact that every business is directly connected to technological advancements, as presented little does to ensure the audience about its substantiation. The spokesperson should have displayed different jobs and the way they are contigent upon technology. In particular, although law firms businesses are generally related to technology, it is not clear how much and what kind of interaction exists since lawyers are mainly concerned about their speech and persuasive capabilities.

The argument is weak since neither is the conclusion sound, nor is the suggestion legitimate. Had there been substantial evidence, perhaps, the argument would have sounded more credible, but in its absence, it sounds indefensible.