The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

As suggested by speaker to School board, the future will be technology-driven, and technology will excel over the coming years. But to make computer programming a mandatory subject for all based on that pretense is a bit too much, just like adding more salt to the dish would make it even better.

First of all, the idea of the speaker that technology is basically computer programming is completely false. Technology, is both hardware and software driven. Consider a smartphone that we use in our daily life. It is made from a combination of both microprocessors and microchips as hardware and software over that hardware. If a only a software patch is released every year without updating the hardware, there is no way that hardware can keep up with the demanding software. That is one aspect of programming which is unavoidable i.e. it needs to run on a hardware.

I can agree on the fact that students who learn programming in school tend to have a much better grasp than the one who will learn later on. But the fact that it would lead them to get high-paying job is a bit misleading because there are many other jobs that are better and high-paying than programming. There is an absence of what is "high-paying" in terms of speaker.

And the speaker is assuming that software engineering and data engineer jobs are really good in each organization. But that fact is: they are not. It depends from company-to-company. Some might make them work rigorously and some of them would be just a cakewalk. We don't know until there are all the facts in front of us.

And to state that programming will benefit them if the student pursues a different career is totally dependent on what kind of career. Take an example of person who wants to be a fashion designer. Now, how will they choose which cloth to choose in the apparel. Will they use other's knowledge of which cloth would be better or will they create a code in which they are defining a particular requirement, compiling the code and would use that machine code. Obviously, the design will do the former. There are many case in which we use the most important part of our body than a code: our brain.

The speaker is very vague and too blunt just to put forward importance of computer programming. I can totally understand it's importance, and in the coming years, it will be a forefront in most of the industry. But to make it an undisputed king and supremely dubbing it as technology would be an overstatement. The speaker must do some more research about how different fields culminate together to give way to the technology.