Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

First of all, I want to start by saying that I disagree with the issue.

Ostensibly, humanities is something that will not bolster a Business/Science background students career. But in the bigger picture, let's have a look at what Humanities is as a subject and how it works for a students of the previously mentioned background.

Humanities is the study of human minds, culture and behavior. It helps to have a concise idea of how humans react in different situations and what one should or shouldn't opt to do in those situations. Whether or not these help in a particular student(whatever his/her major is) is a moot point as it is supposedly an allusion towards psychology. And I think we all would agree that it is important to learn about human psychology and humanities in its entirety for every human being.

However, I do agree that it is directly not benefiting in a particular career goal. But indirectly, humanities is related to every field of job there ever is or was. It is applied in every practical field, every human interaction and every situation a person faces in their daily lives.

Students should of course, have their own perspective about what the do and do not want to learn. But the teachers should also focus on what really matters in a subject and how it would benefit a particular student in any field rather than focusing on the theories.

I think that, every student has the right to choose what he or she wants to learn. As we have seen in every education system, forcing something on a person never results in anything good. Nonetheless, students should also consider what and how they are learning something and not just study something for the sake of grades or just benefiting their career. Courses/Subjects should aim to make the student better and grow as a person. Not just limit to potential career opportunities and relative fields. That was my two cents on the subject.