A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The choice of a students study curriculum is not a trivial one. In fact, a lot of the decisions the students make before entering into college have long lasting effects in their academic and their professional lives. The prompt recommends that a nation should require all of its students to study a homogeneous curriculum until they enter college. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this particular suggestion and argue that a nation should be rigid while providing a curriculum for school and high school going students.

Recently, New York Times published and article saying that students before college are facing difficulties and they are convoluted in making choices for specific courses. The thesis comes from 3 separate viewpoints, the personal interest, coping up with higher studies and the volatile job market. Many scholars don't often find what they are deft at till a certain age. For that reason, the curriculum should be similar for every student before college so that they can get the same base to burgeon and find out intrinsic capabilities to match with their higher studies. Students think that they have a proclivity towards something until their perspectives change with time.

On the other hand, courses or subjects after or during college might be hard to comprehend for students who take a different path than they were at till their college. This leads to a confounded personality and not being able to adapt with other students. For instance, a student who has read all of basic science, business and history studies till college might not have the grasp of advanced, let alone intermediate physics. So, a structured path with courses or subjects a student wants to pursue regarding their career, should be better for them. Whereas, studying a little bit of everything might not elucidate them in choosing a major in under graduation which will eventually lead to a career path.

Thirdly, the volatile nature of the ever shifting job market is also a reason why students should have a grasp of every major courses till college so that they can benefit from the career trends beforehand and preclude any major issues. For example, from 2000 to 2010 there was a huge demand of computer engineers and information technology experts as there was a rise and shift in the progress of technology itself. Nowadays, where machine learning and artificial intelligence is on the rise, digitization in the work place has rendered computer engineers and information technology experts obsolete. Therefore, the subjects related to computer or information technology are less coveted.

I agree that the nation should require all the students to study the same curriculum. However, I do think that the government and the educational institutes should also consider that students sometimes can not adapt with the shift when their studies transcends to a newer level from such a trivial one. Paradoxically, the only way to prevent this from happening is giving them a taste of everything to see what they have a knack towards and students who disagree with this and might want to pursue a specific line of study might be doing so at their own peril.