You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people feel that entertainers such as film stars, pop musicians or sports stars are paid too much money.

Do you agree or disagree?

Which other types of job should be highly paid?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The prompt tells that there is a perception among a number of people that film stars, pop musicians or sport stars are paid too much money. I somewhat disagree with this point of view. Reasons behind my point of view are written below.

Firstly, according to the New York Times, a very renowned tabloid, states that not all film stars are highly paid. Entertainers like sports stars and pop musicians also share this statistics as per their article. So, I would disagree that all these entertainers receive the same level of income.

Secondly, entertainers are not paid based on their talents rather than their image in the world and the views of the audience. Great films, sports prodigies, and good music might be underrated because there is not enough marketing done. So, the entertainers behind it don't get the recognition or the monetary value that they deserve. For example, Joaquin Phoenix, a renowned Hollywood film-star and Oscar winner in 2020 was among the lowest paid actors in Hollywood till 2010. Current sports legends like Gareth Bale, a well established football player had a low income 2007. Also, bands like Beach House, The Marias, Sufjan Stevens despite their great talent and unique music are still not that recognized among the majority of music listeners.

Finally, I would like to say that no job should be considered as High pay or Low pay based on the criteria itself, the income should be based on their level of merit and talent, and what they provide to the society rather than the category of job.