Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leadership is a quality that is quite often very obscure to the populace. The word and the quality is ostensibly "understood" by the masses whereas very few can actually comprehend the real meaning behind it.

A leader is not someone who just motivates people, or guides people through the right way. Taking the right decision at the right time is also the leaders duty. While doing this, his/her followers might be dissatisfied with their decision but that should not obstruct the leader in taking the decision.

In reality, when a football coach takes of the star player from the pitch at the 80th minute, the team or the audience or the player himself might not agree with his decision. Some even act on the intense anger that they feel at that moment. But the coach keeps his calm and has his own reasons, like avoiding an injury risk or fatigue.

This is actually a good example of why the leader should never let others debase his/her decision simply by emotion or by being lax.

However, followers do look for the end result. Unanimous decisions are always appreciated by followers. But, when an unapproved decision doesn't work out as planned, credibility of the leader starts decreasing.

Being a leader is not always about being right or being the fan-favorite. It's about thinking about the best possible solution in any given situation disregarding the emotions of your peers.

Thus, I think that as a leader it's not always important to maintain the respect of his/her peers.