Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

In 2 century, a man is called developed only if he is multitalented, multifunctional , ethical. To develop fully one should not restrict to some particular domain. I disagree with the statement which does not put emphasis on taking extra Humanities courses.

In my opinion, I disagree with the given prompt as author has made an unfair generalization.

To begin, we live in a society where we should not have a subject expertise on particular subject but also overall knowledge of the system. Which means we should have amalgam of courses like if a student has major in business domain then he should be given some humanities courses which will help him to grow ethically like what are the ideal characteristic of a businessman not just in the view of business but humanity, ethics etc.

Further, the world is full of factories, industries, where we polute our surroundings and as a result of that we are jeopardizing our next generation, not just the human kind, but the whole living creatures. For example, due to chemical we discharge in sea water, plethora of dolphins and other water creatures have died and because of that water cycle has been disturbed. A businessman or a scientist should be taught humanities in their curriculum so that they can decide not only on what is lucrative for this generation or humankind but also consider points which wont put our next generation in danger.

On a macro scale, there should be a subject on humanity irrespective of what major subjects students have taken as it will help humankind to grow ethically and a businessmen or scientists can decide considering not just business point of view.