Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Undergraduates taking courses outside their fields may futile given that they should prepare to start contributing to the society. Although the students may be able to allot more time and effort into their major, limiting studies outside their fields may turn out to have negative effects as well as limit their imagination.

Admittedly, the distance between humanities and business or science seems to be

far apart. The approach of the disciplines are different not to mention the method of teaching: humanities emphasize the importance of different interpretation while business or science underscores takes objectivity as a gist. Therefore, by emancipating the students from the burden of literature, they could focus on their studies and thus advance further and faster. For instance, in Korea there are special institutions called science high schools where they eliminate unnecessary curriculum so that students can focus on math and sciences. The graduates tend to excell when in their further pursuit of knowledge because of the intense concentration during education. Hence, by enabling students to focus only on their field, it may help them thrive.

Nevertheless, application of business or science is indetachable from humanities. The most prominent discoveries could turn out as the most noxious ones when the practioner lacks a knowledge in the societies. For instance, in the Manhatten project participating scientists were unaware of the consequences of their research and this lead to a mass destruction of a certain country. Had the scientists been enlightened by the social education, they may have showed dissent toward this project resulting in a more peaceful society. Similarly for business, leaders without consideration for public in general may overlook their strategie's impact on the destitute without social conscience. Consequently, humanities will make the businessman or researchers well-rounded beings who can contribute to the society in a beneficial way.

Finally, some breakthroughs may be induced from fields that seem unrelated. Humanities provide imagination that people in the pragmatic fields may think infeasible but, this may also be the source of ideas. For instance, in the past the metaphor "I want to be a bird" would be illiteral because of the fact that humans could not fly. Nonetheless, it motivated humans to invent the airplane. In addition, Steve Jobs was able to build the Macantosh by utilizing his knowledge about Caligraphy which he obtained while taking a class in college. Thus, it would be presuming to assert that humanities are disconnected from the pragmatic fields.

In conclusion, although limiting seemingly unrelated courses may seem propitious in the sense of concentration, it may fail in nurturing well rounded beings for the society. Also, by participating in these areas of study, students could earn a good source of ideas.