The University of Wabash is considering a community service requirement for all undergraduate and graduate students. We believe that the objective of any university is to produce well-rounded and charitable members of society. The proposed graduation requirement would be to complete at least 8 hours of unpaid community service per month for a total of 9 months. The Dean’s office will maintain a list of approved local charities on its website with contact information. This is a fantastic opportunity for students to give back to the community and gain real-world working experience. Most importantly, local charities in need will receive the help that they need to continue their efforts.

Dean of the university came with the plan how to construct "well-rounded and charitable members of society" from university's students. The plan is to introduce obligatory charitable work for each of them, in order to let them learn the value of such service for the overall well being of the society. On which assumptions wthis argument is based?

First assumption which should be analysed is the causal one stated, and therefore, that community servise lead to the creation of charitable members of the community. As far as the argument is missing any clue, why the assumption is reliable, it might support or weaken the agendaof the Wabash University respectively. Without some empirical results, it is impossible to know if the relationship is correct. It also might be the case, that there are other variables, than community servise, that affect students in their prospective charitable views in the future. Complementary ethics classes might be necessary in order to explain the students exactly why they need the passed through community servise and even, whan kind of impact their action may have. Without such an information, student could see the obligatory classes even negatively and turn away from their charitable futures.

Second important assumption of the argument, in case that the first assumption is proven as valid, is the time of the charitable servise required in order to create well rounded members of society. There is neither evidence in place stating, that 8 hours per 9 months is enough time for students to experience some positive life changing activity and that this time is enough to have considerable impact on their futures. They migh need more time than than to get used to charitable work and subsequently see this work as obligatory and moral part of their life. They might need more time to undesrand the positive impact of their action indeed. But, it might be that this period might be sufficient and there is no need for additional obligatory work. Without any valid evidence, the assumption may also weaken and strenghten the university's proposal.

Moreover, the practical way in which university is planning to apply. the agenda is, to maintain the list of the charities on their website. This can work in case, that students are well informed about this fact, or that they have a tendency to visit the university website offten enough to be aware about this information. If they tend to visit the website of their university often enough, or if they are aware of the information on the website, there is not certain causal relationship in place indicating that they will be willing to work for the charities afterwards. They might finish their obligation required by the university and do not get back to the charities again. In this case, tha assumption is, that they are aware of the information on the website, and subsequently, they are willing enough to use this information to contact the charity and help them to receive the need.

The argument of the University of Wabash Dean rely on many unstated assumptions. Even though the idea is very beneficial for any student's future, unfortunately, there is no indicator, that it would work in practice.