Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

The discussion between two individuals with contrasting ideas on an inflammatory topic is superfluous as it often evokes a negative reaction from the participants when their innate beliefs are questioned.

Discussion among people is often done to exchange ideas and get to know one's perspective on some issues. Discussions must be healthy i.e all the involved parties must be able to convey their ideas or opinions without being derisive or vociferous. The ideas flow coherently between people if they are in a mindset to accept it and when the discussions are healthy.

While discussing inflammatory topics, there is a high likelihood of betraying or offending someone's beliefs and sentiments. For instance, the discussion about religion is often controversial. Religion is one of the aspects of a society people associate themselves with.

Topics involving religion are highly sensitive and inappropriate for public debate as it engenders division among people. As people associate themselves with religion, when their religious beliefs are discussed and contradicting viewpoints are proposed, they tend to think that their core beliefs and morals have been questioned and that will lead to tumultuous scenes in the country.

For example, when an atheist discusses with a Hindu about the existence of Lord Shiva, the discussion will cease to be healthy and the Hindu is more likely to get agitated and take things personally. It will be followed by a flurry of insults towards the atheist and a fist-fight between the individuals. Even though discussion of controversial topics more often leads to an argument, it is infelicitous to stay mum on controversial issues that are plaguing the progress of a country. Such issues must be discussed with care to develop a feasible solution that is seconded by all the participants.

Hence, the discussion of inflammatory topics between participants with contrasting beliefs does not result in a healthy discussion but in argument due to the inability of either participant to accept their core beliefs being questioned.