"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The writer of the memo from advertising director concludes that Super Screen should have increased their budget in the upcoming year to reach the public via advertising. The evidence is that there is not enough reach to the people about the reviews of the movies. While this memo seems tenable at first glance, the conclusion relies on assumptions that do not have clear evidence. Thus the following three questions must be answered.

First and foremost, the report from the marketing department might have a faulty result that might have made the report spurious. There is no clear evidence that reports made in past years are the same as this year. For instance, the marketing department made the last year report with huge people that gave positive reviews about the movie. However, this year the report might have taken people majorly which does not like the movie. If this scenario is true, then the assertion of the writer is hampered.

Secondly, are the people who get these movie reviews are interested in the movies?

If we look into the life of people who get these reviews they might be not interested in movies in general. People might not get time to watch movies because of there works. For example, a person having a shop of cloths in the season when people are most likely to buy clothes these shopkeepers doesn't get time for going to the theatre and watch such movies. Thus the quality of the movie does not take into place in these cases.

Finally, are the public going to the same type of movies in a changing world and technology? the perspective of the audience might have changed as the years are passing a new genre of movies are coming. Therefore, the production company may think that the movie is going to be blockbuster as such type of movies had a great record. However, it is possible that people are not looking forward to such movies anymore. So, increasing the budget for advertising such movies is detrimental because people will ignore such ads and look forward to other amusing stuff.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing scenario that increasing share for advertising will increase the attendance of people in the movie theatre.