Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

The writer of the letter concludes that prohibiting of skateboarding in Central Plaza will subsequently increase the store owners business. The evidence is that before skateboarding came into the plaza, store owners had good business and vandalism was not seen around the plaza. While this letter may seem tenable at first glance, the conclusion relies on the assumption for which there is no clear evidence. Thus the following three quest ions must be answered.

First and foremost, are the number of costumers of the shop’s affected due to the increasing popularity of skateboarding? The author’s assumption is not practically true, as the customers rely on the shop’s product majorly rather than the people who are visiting the plaza. Perhaps skateboard enthusiast doesn’t have any relation with the shop’s product and decreasing profit of the shop might have due to the quality of the product, high price. If this scenario is true, then the assertion of the writer is significantly hampered

Secondly, do the damage to the plaza and increase in garbage has much affect on the business of the shops? As the increase in the number of people visiting plaza will have a subsequent effect on the aesthetic of the plaza. It is clear that if this was a problem for the customer to come shopping in the shops there would not have increased in the skateboarding crowd. If this is the case then the writer must mention cogent proof that customers have the problem with litter in the plaza.

Finally, the decrease in the customer might have cost due to the economy of the people around, the product might not be useful to the majority of the population. Perhaps blaming on the skateboarding is not fundamentally correct. It is possible that the economy of customers has been decreased. As the author mentions about it two years ago, the economic condition and peoples perspective might have changed today that has affected their business today.

Because the argument makes several unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing scenario that banning the skateboarding in the plaza will increase the business of the shop owners.