The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager of a television station states that the late-night news should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level to attract more viewers. The reason for this is the amount of complaints concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businessess that used to advertise during the late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts. The argument is not entirely logically convincing, since it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the business manager states that during the time of increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news, most of the complaints received from viewes were concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. The author doesn't provide a table with numbers of the amount of the complaints. Maybe they only got 5 complaints in total and the number of the complaints about the coverage of weather and local news can't be very much. The author needs to provide information, such as a table, with information about all complaints and the number of complaints about coverage of local news and weather.

Furthermore, the arguments assumes that the cancelation of advertising contracts is due the increased time to national news and decreased time of weather and local news. It could be that there is no relationship between these two. It is possible that companies that advertised during the late-night news got better offers, like cheaper advertising contracts. It is also a possability that the companies who advertise at the late-night show are having a hard economic time, and can't afford advertising anymore and therefore have canceled their contracts. The author should provide evidence that the advertising contracts got cancelled due the decreased time in local and weather news.

Finally, the author make the assumptions that restoring the time devoted to weather and local news should increase the number of viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenues. This is not necessarily true. Nowhere in the argument is stated that due the increased time in national news the number of viewers decreased, so maybe restoring the time will not increase the number of viewers. In addition, it is also not just to say that restoring the time will avoid any further advertising revenues. Maybe these companies will also be offered a better deal or are struggling with economic hardship. The author could strengthen the argument with a local survey about why people do not watch to the late-night news and why previous advertising contracts got cancelled. If the reason is that there is lack of weather and local news, this would bolster the argument.

In conclusion, the argument is not quite plausible. It ignores some certain crucial assumptions and there is more evidence needed to buttress these assumptions. The author should provide more information about the number of complaints regarding time coverage of weather and local news. There is also more information needed about the reason of the cancelling of advertising contracts with the television station. The author could strengthen his argument with a survey about why people do not watch the late-night news, if the reason is not provided, we can not make any conclusions.