The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement provides a topic where the opinion among people differ about, whether the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instelling a sense of cooperation and not competition in them. It may be said that both qualities are important and I argue that the best way to prepare young people for leadership is by instilling a sense of cooperation in them.

First, although it is important in all fields of leadership that there is some kind of cooperation, because of the dissemination of knowledge, I think a sense of competition will get leaders further and more successful. Competition brings out the best in people, it motivates them to work harder and achieve their goals. Take for example leadership in industry, the one who works the harderst, has the most chance to get the better job or the higher function, because of his dedicated work. When employees would only coorperate, there would not be any motivation to achieve the highest goal and get the best job.

Furthermore, competition is not a bad thing. It let's people grow to be the better version of themselves. Leaders in government have to compete to get chosen by the elections. When they would only coorporate with other leaders for other parties, inhabitants of a country would not know where to vote for, because the leaderships would not have any clear salient standing points. When the elections are over, in some cases it is important that parties coorperate to get the best wellfare for the country, but without competition, political leaders will get nowhere and something like democracy would be useless, because no party would be clear in its promises.

On the contrary, people may say that due competition people can feel very stressed. it puts a lot of weight on their shoulders, because they think they have to achieve the best results. To a certain level, this is true, but if one can not deal with this kind of pressure, it would not be a fantastic leader anyway, because with leadership there comes a lot of stress and one really should have to deal with it to excell further in their job.

In conclusion, a good sense of coorperation is not unimportant, but a sense of competition in leadership is one of the qualities a leader should absolutely have to achieve the top. It brings motivation and clear standingpoints from the leader. Competition may cause some stress, but when people can't stand this stress, they should not be a leader.