Topic: The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company (SSMPC) states that due the decreasement of people attended to SSMPC past year and the percentage increase of positive reviews by movie viewers about SSMPC the same year, there should be greater share of its budger next year for advertising to reach the public. He states that people are not aware that movies of good quality are available and this results in a decreasement in visitors. While the argument sounds plausible at first glance, it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the director is not clear in numbers. He says vague things like "fewer" and "percentage increase". It is not clear how many fewer visitors and how many more positive reviews there are. Maybe there is only a slight difference in number and there is no significant reason to increase the budget for better marketing. Maybe, it is a coincidence that during the past year there is a decrease in visitors and it is possible that the amount of visitors returns to its normal level the coming years. The author should answer questions about how many fewer people attended to SSMPC and how many more positive reviews there were.

Furthermore, the author assumes that the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough to gain more viewers. Maybe, this is not true and people have other reasons for not going to SSMPC eventhough they saw the positive reviews. Maybe they having a hard financial time, or there is another movie theatre in town that better fits their needs. If the author does not have any answers to these questions, there is no guarantee that allocating a greater share of its budget next year in advertising will increase its visitors.

Finally, the assumption is made that the problem is not with the quality of the movies, because of the positive reviews. But maybe there are other reasons people gave positive reviews. For instance, the food was great and the service was very good and people would give a positive review for that. The author needs to give a answer to the question what kind of positive reviews there were and what their content was.

In conlusion, the argument has some serious flaws and is not entirely logically convincing. The author should provide answers to the questions how many fewer visitors have attended and what the percentage increase of positive reviews is. There should be answers to the questions why people placed a positive review and if there are any other reasons why people do not attend to SSMPC.