The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

In the memorandum provided, the director recommends that the Super Screen Movie Production Company should distribute to the advetisement sector a much higher proportion of its budget for the next year. They believe that by doing so, they would be able to reach the public and generate higher profit. Such allegation is based on a few assumptions that may not be justified. In the following paragraphs, I would like to state these assumptions, and provide insight on how the allegations made by the director could be undermined should the assumptions they rely on be proven unwarrented.

First and foremost, the reason why the director insists that advertisement would boost their revenue is due to their belief that the combination of the fact that the drop in movie patronage and the rise in proportion positive reviews implies that the company is still making remarkable movies but the public is not privy of such superb movies. While the causal relationship is plausible, it is definitely not the sole possibility. Another likely explanation to the phenomena is that the people who did not enjoy the movies are the ones who have contributed to the decrease in viewership. Since these viewers are likely the group that have previously crutiqued and left negative reviews on their films, it is reasonable to deduce that the increase in the percentage of positive reviews is simply due to a decrease in negative comments. The director has spuriously alleged that the rise in the proportion of positive reviews in and of itself denotes a rise in the number of positive reviews. From close examination we can conclude that this is not the case as it is also possible for the ratio to rise because the number of negative feedback diminished.

Equally noteworthy is the effects advertisement could make on the overall success of the company. As a movie production company, it is safe to assume that Super Screen has already dedicated some proportion of their budget to methods of advertisement such as plastering posters around the city and broadcasting trailers on social media platforms and television. With such pre-existing efforts, it is reasonable to suggest that a wide proportion of the population who at least walks on streets and watch television would have already seen such advertisement. Therefore, the marginal effect of putting in more resources into promotion should be highly scrutinized. It is unlikely for so many people that have already seen the ads to suddenly aggrandize their willingness to watch the movie just be seeing more posters and longer trailers. Therefore, claiming that allocating a greater share of the budget to advertising would reap appreciable results is apocryphal. Individuals who decide not to go to a particular movie is more likely to be due to their lack of interest instead of lack of acknowledgement.

By way of conclusion I would like to reiterate the aforementioned assumptions and how they could greatly corrode the director's assertion. Firstly, insisting that the public is not in the know of the spectacular movies that they produce is the reason behind a drop in viewership but a rise in proportion in positive feedback is specious. It is also possible that the decrease in movie patronage and proportion of negative reviews are attributed to the same group of people who did not enjoy their movies, and have decided to stop going to them altogether. Secondly, maintaining that the effects of advertisement would justify a higher share of resources is unfounded. Given the posters and trailers that are extant, it is unreasonable for the marginal benefit of additional advertisement to be of great extend. If the movie production company follows through with the director's advice, it is possible for Super Screen to not only fail to see an increase in viewership, but also face a greater expense in advertisement that cannot be outweighed by revenue that does not increase.