2. The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The memorandum provided suggests the following two assertions. First, the manager alleges that 98% of the customers are satisfied with the change. Second, they insist that customers are incapable of differentiating between butter and margarine or butter is used as an umbrella term for both butter and margarine for the aforementioned customers. I would like to use the following paragraphs to elucidate why these two allegations are inconclusive and provide alternatives that could explain the given phenomena.

First and foremost, the allegation that "98% of the customers are satisfied with the change" is based on the fact that "only 2 percent of customers have complained". These two statements, however, are not mutually exclusive, as it is not unconditionally true that a customer who does not complain is satisfied with the change. As a result, the manager's conclusion is not necessarily true and in fact, is likely to be erroneous with the following possibilities. While there is no doubt that the 98% of customers who did not complain about the change (which is an event mutually exclusive with the provided 2% that did complain) would include those who are content with the transition from butter to margarine, that group of patrons is likely to be an amalgam of people who did not make a complaint with an explanation other than being satisfied. One possibility is that customers who actually are dissatisfied with the change simply did not make a complaint for a multitude of reasons. Such reasons could include residing a distance away from the restaurants so that making a trip there just to make a complaint is not cost effective, or they just simply stop patronizing the restaurant altogether. Another suggestion is that some customers could be indifferent between the two condiments. This in itself does not mean that they are "happy" with the change, but rather that they feel apathetic and do not care regardless.

Equally noteworthy is that the contention that "customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine" is due to the fact that "a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead". This statement is based on the wild assumption that customers who do not complain truly equate butter with margarine. It is spurious to make such an assumption, given how patrons could have plenty of alternative reasons why they did not complain. One other explanation is that some part of the population inherently avoid conflict, and are unwilling to confront a server and demand for butter if they really do prefer butter to margarine. Such characteristics of eschewing friction may give rise to their decision to not make a complaint. Another reason that cannot be overemphasized is that customers could truly be indifferent between butter and margarine. This, however, does not imply that they are not capable of telling the difference. They could be fully aware that they have been handed margarine in the stead of butter, but did not complain because both condiments provide them with the same utility.

By way of conclusion, I would like to restate my alternative explanations for the given phenomena. Instead of 98% of the customers being happy for the change from butter to margarine, it is also plausible to say that the 98% that did not complain about the change is a union of patrons who are truly satisfied, those who are restricted from making a complaint, and those who find butter and margarine equally satisfying. What's more, the fact that a number of customers do not complain when they are given margarine instead of butter could be a result of the customers' aversion of conflict or even just an indifference between the margarine and butter. In a nutshell, the conclusions that the manager has made are not conclusive, and a plethora of alternative explanations are also likely to be true.