The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">In the article provided, the anthropologist, Dr. Karp, has the following two assertions. First, Karp claims that Dr. Filed's statement that children in Tertia are brought up by an entire village is faulty. Second, they also insist that interview-centred method is of higher validity than the observation-centered approach. Both allegations are based on assumptions and would risk being refutation should such assumptions be spurious.

First and foremost, the first claim that Karp made is wildly based on the assumption that children talking much more about their biological parents is a result of being nurtured solely by said parents. While it is reasonable that upbringing from biological parents can lead to children integrate their parents into multiple facets of conversation, their is no proof whatsover to maintain that the existence of the latter is because of the former. It is still plausable that children in Tertia are reared by the aggregated village and still mention their birth parents frequently in their dialogues. The following are some other possibilities for the high recurrence of parents in speech. One could be that they simply live with their parents for most of the time, and still spend a considerable portion of the day interacting with the society. Another alternative is that they are more comfortable mentioning their parents and hence use their names in their conversations more frequently.

Equally noteworthy is how Karp's second assertion could be undermined. Their allegation that interviews are better than observation is based solely on this one event from Field. It can be seen that Karp assumes that observation is inferior to interviews in all scenarios. While it may be true that Field's observation in the Tertia had been erroneous, it is apocryphal for Karp to generalize all scenarios and demerit all types of observations. In many island cultures, there could be a dearth of interpreters who speak both English and the native tongue. Situations like these would make interviews difficult or even impossible to conduct. What's more, the recount of villagers could be misconstrued and subjective, rendering their interviews biased and inaccurate. In such cases, it bears no doubt that observation may still prove to be more useful than interviews.

By way of conclusion I would like to restate how Karp's arguments could be precipitious. Firstly, the claim that Field's conclusion is invalid is based entirely on the assumption that the only reason why children are garrelous about their biological parents is because they are raised soley by said parents. Secondly, the allegation that interview-centered methods is better than observation-centered ones is likely to be specious, as there exists a multitude of situations where interviews are impossible to conduct or blemished by subjective descriptions. In a nutshell, Karp's assertions are based on assumptions that are not proven, and may be entirely spurious if such assumptions are unjustified.</span><br>