The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim.

In the advent of the 21st century, leadership is no longer aggregated upon one individuals in many countries. Throughout the world, it can be commonly seen for young people to join forces with a variety of fields such as the government and industry. Their preparation for climbing up this hierarchy has never been or more importance. Without a doubt, the argument of whether cooperation or competition can eventually be their mentor in their road to the apex is of high significance. It is my utmost belief that cooperation is truly the way for the younger generation to equip themselves with what it takes to become a leader. In the following paragraphs, I would like to elucidate my position and provide examples to bolster my viewpoint.

First and foremost, game theory, a branch of economics that studies the rationality and behavior of human choice, strongly suggests that cooperative strategies can reap higher rewards in the long run. Take a group of individuals as an example. We can clearly see that when people who are competitive are faced with those that are cooperative, it is reasonable to deduce that the former would gain a higher benefit, usually at the expense of the latter. However, when two individuals that are both competitive are set against each other, due to their aggressive traits, both parties would end up with low payoffs or even be worse off. When we turn our inspection to a situation with two cooperative agents, they would reach a much higher utility than two competitive people could ever dream of as cooperative strategies facilitate each other. Robert Axelrod, a famous researcher that held a tournament of the Prisoner's Dilemma, found that cooperative strategies always score much higher than strategies that are competitive and defective. From his studies and combined with concepts in game theory, we can conclude that in general, making decisions with cooperation in mind can generate greater benefits.

Equally noteworthy is how cooperation can lead to higher marginal productivity. Proponents of the concept that competition can prevail in the long run often argue that due to the scarcity of resources, those who are belligerent and competitive have an upperhand when it comes to fighting for what the society could offer. While there is no doubt that resources in and of itself are scarce, they fail to recognize that resources, when allocated wisely, could expand and bring the society to a higher tier. Consider an example where there is a piece of land where the fertility is limited. If all farmers on this land are competitive, they would see that overgrowing on the land would bring them more revenue in the short run. Nevertheless, the due to an overload in capacity, the fertility of the land will decrease and diminish their profits in the long run. This is often known as the Tragedy of the Commons. If the farmers had been cooperative, they would have seen a better solution as to how they could allocate their resources in order to ensure the longevity of the fertility.

For young people to become great leaders in many sectors of a country, they would be in charge of great resources and face difficult situations involving other leaders. From the aforementioned points, it goes without saying that making cooperative choices in general would more often than not bring individuals to reap higher rewards. Young leaders, with ultimately the "choice" of the welfare or many, should definitely follow suit. The aggregation of cooperation can not only ensure that different cooperative leaders can facilitate each other in the road to success, but also rationally allocate resources as to preserve their intrinsic value, and even expand to accommodate more people. In a nutshell, it is my greatest belief that by instilling a sense of cooperation and not competition in young people, they would be truly equipped to lead the world towards a better Utopia.