Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

As we continue our odyssey of advancement, the prevalance of education, or the lack thereof, has become a prominent indicator for how developed a country is. In a world where emphasis on tertiary education is ubiquitous, it bears no surprise that the debate of how much such education should cost has never been as intense. Some argue that college education should be offered gratis while others insist that students should bear some or even all of its cost. Personally, I do not completely agree with the ideals of free education. However, it is my greatest belief that university tuition should be reduced greatly, an especially for those who are in a destitute situation. In the following paragraphs, I would like to elucidate my position, as well as provide examples to bolster my standpoint.

First and foremost, from the perspective of economics, education consumption provides an external benefit to the society. By definition, an external benefit is an increase in utility for the public that is not shown in the profile of the consumer. When a market is in a situation where external benefit could be present, the goods discussed is overpriced, and hence quantity consumed is below the social optimum. In order to reach the social optimum, which ensures that the utility of the society in whole will be maximized, such goods should be subsidized so that consumers have an incentive to increase their demand. Education is entirely in the same predicament. Generally, students are required to pay the full cost of college education. A higher consumption for education means that there are more learned individuals in our society and the public can certainly benefit from the elite. In order to increase university education consumption, the government is responsible for offering subsidies to prospective students who are beseeching for a college education.

From the previous paragraph, it has been implied by the concept of external benefit that university education should be subsidized. Equally noteworthy is how much subsidy should be provided to students. While the proponents of free education may content that ultimately free education can truly provide the greatest utility for the consumers, they fail to realize that the cost for education providers need to be considered within the equation. If education should be completely subsidized to a point where students do not need to pay a penny, either universities would go out of business because costs could not be broken even, or the government would have to aggrandize the taxation on the public, which in turn is tantamount to landing part the cost on the students' shoulders.

In order to make sure that students are subsidized and education providers could receive enough funds to balance their expenses, the government should propose a system in which it considers the following two variables in the determination of how much subsidy that student receives. First, the student's wealth background should be greatly considered. Many students with great potential could not fully discover their latency due to the heavy weight of college tuition. They students should be given a chance to flap their gossamer wings and perhaps metamorph into an eagle in the future sky. The second factor under consideration should be the individual's performance in primary and secondary education. It is reasonable to assume that students who have been outstanding all the way until high school truly have a higher chance of succeeding in the future, and hence bring upon a greater utility for the society. The subsidy that they receive should therefore be commensurate to how much they are expected to be able to give to the public in the future. Without a doubt, such students would be able to receive a better education and enhance their skills even further.

By way of conclusion I would like to reiterate my utmost belief that college education should be subsidized to a certain extend. Firstly, according to the ideas of external benefit, it would raise the utility of a society if tertiary education is subsidized. Secondly, while I believe that students should not be the sole assumer of university tuition, it should not be completely taken off either in consideration of the costs for the education providers. Last but not least, students in more meager conditions as well as elites who have proven themselves from elementary school to high school should receive a higher proportion of a cut in tuition. In a nutshell, the government should consider these factors to determine how much subsidy to provide different individuals pursuing higher education.