Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is considered by many to be the pinnacle of the growth and nurture of all individuals. It is of such importance that formal education ranging from primary to tertiary has been enforced in a multitude of countries. In fact, the provision of compulsory education has become a criterion of measuring a country's development. Nevertheless, the controversy of whether formal education actually restrains the minds and spirits of children and adolescence instead of emancipating their psyche has never been as notable. It is my greatest belief that formal education does in fact restrict the growth of school-aged individuals. I will use the following paragraphs to elucidate my standpoint.

Formal education is often defined as the situation where students are sitting at desks with their textbooks open while the teacher stands at a stage and gives a lecture. Here are some reasons why such environment can be constraining if not oppressing to the minds and spirits of the learners. First and foremost, the attention span of a student when faced with a lecture is scientifically proven to wane as time goes on. The typical time before a person's vigor start to diminish in a lecture is around 30 to 40 minutes. Lectures, however, may range from hour long classes in primary and secondary education to three or four hours in many university or postgraduate programs. To allege that a student would be able to really garner all the information thrown at them is ridiculous. Equally noteworthy is the commonplace scene in a lecture where students furiously scribble down notes in fear of the instructor moving on to the next topic. Given how much energy and time students already put into jotting down what is written on the blackboard, it is impossible to imagine a possibility where they would be able to fully digest the information given to them. Teenagers in math courses are often times found to have taken lots of notes during class but still find it peculiarly difficult to finish assignment given that they have not been given time to process the problem sets beforehand in the lecture.

Proponents of the idea that formal education can set our minds and spirits free often argue that students need a lecturer or teacher to galvanize them to study and grow as well as a mentor to pass on information to them. While there is no doubt that youngsters do need that extra push and inspiration, it is unreasonable to insist that it requires the extent of formal education that we commonly see today. Firstly, a lecture is an extremely parochial method for students to ingest knowledge given how they are only provided with whatever is given to them. This would engender a situation where students are not able to conduct research and find answers on their own. Often times, teenagers from formal lectures just amenably accept that the relativity equation of E equals MC squared from their physics teacher instead of ever wondering where that relation came from. Secondly, students that solely listen to the "doctrine" of the lecturer will fail to gain experience from conducting their own presentation. This is not unthinkable as individuals who have sat at a desk their entire lives would find it difficult to share their own thoughts. They have always been on the accepting side instead of ever given the chance to making mistakes in presenting and learning from them.

By way of conclusion I would like to reiterate my utmost belief that formal education restrains an individual. Formal education has rendered students unable to effectively allow information to sink in due to the superfluously lengthy lecture sessions as well as the requirement of studious note-taking. What's worse, formal education deprives a student of their ability to find answers on their own as well as conducting presentations. In a nutshell, formal education has failed to set students free and has been proven to hold them back from truly blossoming into their adulthood.