The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

From the memorandum given we can see that the business manager asserts that the television station should expand new coverage of weather and local news for the purpose of rising the viewership rating as well as eschewing the loss in advertising income. This allegation is wildly based on the assumption that complaints received from viewers and the rescindment of advertising contracts resulted from the cut of weather and local news, as well as the presumption that the resurgence of such news would bring in more viewers and curb the loss in advertisement revenues. Such assumptions are consequential and inconclusive, which means that they are likely erroneous given different scenarios.

First and foremost, querulous viewers that are concerned about the station's coverage of weather and local news are of no doubt still viewers of the station. This means that such a proportion of viewers already exist in the equation, and underscoring the coverage on weather and local news, and hence stating the desires of pre-existing viewers, does not in any case imply that the number of viewers will rise. What the business manager should consider is the demographic that does not already tune in to the station. If attraction of additional viewers is truly an opbjective, then the television station should expand on facets that may intrigue non-viewers. Should the taste of these people match with weather and local coverage, then viewership is likely to rise. However, if the alignment is not desireable, then the station may actually lose money given how additional funds would certainly be required for making such an alteration.

Equally noteworthy is the unstable logic behind the second assumption, where the business manager assumes that local businesses revoke their advertisement contracts is based on the decline in weather and local coverage. Although these two events seem to have a certain relationship to them, outright asserting that they have a causal relationship is specious. The decision for local businesses to stop advertising could be a result from a wide number of other factors. Examples of such include the cost of advertising, the undesirable viewership at night (which has been inferred from the previous paragraph to not necessarily improve if the station raise the coverage on weather and local news) as well as changes in preference of customers from local businesses. Such a variety of variables could all factor in to how the decision to stop cooperating with the television station culminated. Since it cannot be proven that cutting down on weather and local news is responsible for the loss in advertisement revenues, it is inappropriate to allege that bringing back such news coverage would magically resuscitate advertisement contracts.

By way of conclusion I would like to restate that the assumptions made by the business manager are spurious. This would render his argument to rejuvinate coverage on weather and local news useless and possibly costly. From the aforementioned points it has been clearly stated that viewership can only rise if the tastes of non-viewers are considered. What's more, the relationship between the decrease of weather and local news and the termination of advertisement contracts are not proven to be causal. These two statements could imply that the assumptions made are unwarranted, and the television station would burden a transitional cost of expanding weather and local news that cannot be compensated by the non-existent expected revenues.