A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Throughout the course of history, general education has become more and more ubiquitous. Many indicators of the well-being of a nation often factor in the prevalence of compulsory primary and secondary education. As a result, how learning systems at these levels are structured has never been of such importance. One common argument is whether all students should take upon a uniform national curriculum before entering college. It is my greatest belief that only a portion of such bundle should be identical across children in school. I strongly insist that there should still be a section of a student's educational upbringing where they have the free will to determine which courses is more becoming to them. In the following paragraphs, I would like to elucidate my contentions and provide examples.

First and foremost, students are not identical learning devices that have the same algorithm installed in their brains. There bears no doubt that different individuals possess a wide variety of combinations of interests, skills and expertise. Needless to say, they also carry the burden of different shortcomings and flaws. It is often seen in a high school mathematics lecture, where a portion of the students have already mastered the content, and are idly waiting for the teacher to move on. There also exists another group of classmates, who after the lecturer's frantic re-explanation are still incapable of grasping the concept of matrices. Creating a set of curricula where all students need to stringently abide by would create a cataclysm where half the class doesn't bear the same footsteps as what the course expected. This frustrating issue could easily be solved if elective courses are treated with a higher priority in the educational concoction. Students would be allowed to truly find which disciplines call to them, and connect with like-minded classmates in a classroom environment that could facilitate their growth.

Proponents of the ideal of seeing an identical national curriculum as requisite often assert the importance of assuring that all students receive proper education in all fields of studies before tertiary education. While it is undeniable that there are many pieces of information that should be shared and acquired across all school-aged children, it is fallacious to insist that a twelve-year course should only be filled with an unchangeable menu of courses for all students. I agree whole-heartedly that for elementary education, children should be given the same structure of education as to fully prepare them for different disciplines that they would accrue interest in. There is no doubt that all students should be able to do simple arithmetic, as well as understand the important historical events around the world. However, secondary education should be an environment where students are given the chance to step into different disciplines that they expect to provide them with knowledge that is truly of use to them. One common saying for college students is that "I have forgotten around 80% of what I've learn in high school." This is not unthinkable as many nations today still require students to stick to a one-size only educational systems. Students that study engineering will eventually forget the tortuous ways a prose could be written from high school English, and students in the field of law usually cannot remember sine and cosine values from high school mathematics.

By way of conclusion, I would like to reiterate my belief that a nation should set an identical curriculum for students before college. Firstly, students have different interests and fortes, which would be underexposed should they stick to the same studies. Equally important is that while there should still be some common courses that all students should take, requiring students to participate in quasi-high level courses that would not help them in the future is usually tantamount to a waste of time and brain cells. From the aforementioned points, it is clear that allowing students to have some leeway in the decision of what they would like to learn in a secondary level of education is truly the way to create elites in all wonderful fields of studies and disciplines.