The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the world advances into the 21st Century, the well-being of a society assumes more and more importance in our concept of the development of a country in whole. Variables for how we measure social welfare has been discussed and argued throughout history, one of which is the extent to which a population questions authority. I strongly agree that it is the responsibility of all citizens to examine our government with scrutiny for the purpose of enhancing the utility of our society. I would like to use the following paragraphs to elucidate my standpoint, as well as provide examples and arguments from both sides of the statement.

Humans are known to be myopic and self-beneficial. As a result, it is not uncommon for the few in charge of a government to lose sight of the benefit for the society. While corrupted officials are the ones that should be held accountable for their actions, it bears no doubt that the citizens are the ones that should periodically ensure that the current government is on the right course. Examples of such are ubiquitous throughout history. The Qing Dynasty in China started off strong, with emperors truly benevolent and revered by the people. As time went on, the rulers relinquished their loving ways, and made choices against the welfare of the public. Under such a corruptive government, the people were galvanized to rebel and eventually overthrew the crown. This example clearly explains how it is only when society stand up and question authority that such deviation of policies and leadership from the well-being of the people can be maintained and enhanced.

Opponents to this statement often argue that it is easier for a society to function given a set of measures and policies set by the government. While it is certainly true that such a universe could ensure that deviants in the group do not harm the pre-existing welfare of the public, the opponents have failed to consider a multitude of other benefits that would disappear should people be bereft of their right to question the authority. Firstly, preventing or even prohibiting such scrutiny would imply that authority is aggregated only across a minority of people. As the saying goes, "power tends to corrupt. Absolute power corrupts absolutely". It is almost impossible for any political figure who started off venerated to maintain their benevolence after seizing absolute power. Equally noteworthy is the key to enhance social welfare is for the public to be privy of what they desire, and what powers that may be gainsaying them such rights. Only by rising up to authority that have lost focus of the common good, and upbraiding those that are responsible, can a society truly maintain its colors and and sprinkle hues of improvement.

By way of conclusion I would like to reiterate the important role examining authority plays on the enhancement of social welfare. Leaders and rulers throughout history have been known to deviate from the course of improvement, and it requires a push in the right direction by none other than the people themselves. Scrutinizing authority can bear the fruits of the awareness of the requisites for enhancement, as well as set curbs to the deterioration of corruptive governments. It is my utmost belief that we can only truly become a better society if we make good use of our rights to question authority.