The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.

The opinion in the above argument states that any country needs strong borders to reduce the numbers of immigrants. Immigrants endanger economy and national identity, hence every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin. While the argument sounds plausible at first glance, it ignores certain crucial assumptions.

First, the author states that the autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders. He doesn't provide evidence to support this assumption. Is it really true that this is the case? The autonomy of a country can be defined using various parameters, like military strength, amount of imports, political deals etc. It could be that many countries find the strength of its borders the most important parameter for the autonomy of the country, but it is false to say that this is true for any country. Take for example the EU. In this continent, you are free to travel from country to country without severe rules. You are free to go wherever you want to go. The most important factor for autonomy isn't the strength of its borders to reduce the number of immigrants in the EU, otherwise they would be a lot more careful to let in immigrants. Thus, the author wrongly makes generalized assumptions, that are not true for the entire world.

Secondly, the author states that, when the number of illegal immigrants can not be checked, both economy and national identity are endangered. This doesn't have to be true. Maybe there are many jobs that needs to get fulfilled, but the people in the country are not able to get all the job applications filled. The immigrants could fill this job applications and it will gain better economy. Thus, not in all countries this assumption would hold true. Also, it doesn't need to be true that the national identity is endangered. In the Netherlands, there are a lot of foreign people with other culture and believes, but the national identity of the Netherlands is not endangered at all. It is a country where people live with each other and typical traditions, like celebrating "Sinterklaas" are still a tradition and will be in the future, even though there are many foreign people in the Netherlands who don't celebrate it. We can respect each others traditions and the national identity will not be endangered.

Furthermore, even if the above is true, is it true that every effort has to be made to return the immigrants to their country of origin. Is it even possible to do this? It can lead to very unsatisfactory conditions. It restricts the freedom of people and sending immigrants to their origin country may cost an abundance of money. If this is true, maybe this will endanger the economy, because of the costs of sending the immigrants back. The author needs to provide information about what efforts have to be made to send the immigrants back. Is it costly and efficient? How are they going to do it, because it is easily said but not easily done.

In conclusion, the assumptions that were made by the author are not entirely logically convincing. The author wrongly makes generalized assumptions, about that the autonomy of any country is based on its strength of its borders. He should provide evidence that economy and national identity are in any country endangered by immigrants, because there are various reasons to think this is not a logical assumption. The efforts that have to be made to return the immigrants to their origin country are not stated in the argument, he should provide this information, because otherwise it can not be concluded if these efforts are possible and endanger the economy of the country even more.