Young people should be encouraged to pursue long-term, realistic goals rather than seek immediate fame and recognition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

All the good things in life take time. The prompt suggests that young people should be encouraged to pursue realistic, far-fetched goals rather than immediate fame and recognition. I strongly agree with the statement and think that young people should be visualizing the long term goals and working hard to achieve it.

Firstly, immediate fame and recognition in most cases transitory. There are countless examples of people especially in this youtube generation who was famous for about a year and fade into nothing afterward. The same can be said about the child actors who peaked too early, who were famous for their roles as a child but could not make it into mainstream films or TVs afterward. Young people in most of the cases do not have enough experience to handle fame and become overwhelmed by the attention they get as they became famous. As they can not cope with constant attention, as a result, their health, private life, relationships, etc start to decline. Some people do not have the choice regarding this but those who do should have a long term vision and should set a realistic goal rather than pursuing temporary fame and recognition.

Secondly, as young people set a long term goal and make plans accordingly to fulfill it, they will learn a lot along the way. During that process, they can take help from the more experienced seniors who have done similar kinds of things. They will grow as a person along the way. For instance, an entrepreneur should first set a realistic long term goal, then ask advice from the more experienced ones about the goals, he may even have to change or modify the goals with regards to the suggestion form the seniors. If he does that he will learn a lot, and his business is bound to be successful. Experience is more valuable than knowledge in most of the cases, and as the young people start to make long term realistic goals they with gain experience along the way and when they are famous and recognized, they can easily handle the attention and still be humble cause they have come a long way to achieve this.

But, there are cases where people have handled their immediate fame and recognition to long term success. Some actors like Natalie Portman, who was famous for her role as a child, did make it into the mainstream cinema. There are cases of different artists like Justin Beiber who was famous even before he was 16 years old and carry on to be still popular afterward.

In conclusion, one may argue that seeking immediate fame and carrying out forward is way to go for the young people but there are few rare cases where it has been successful and it is prudent that they set a long-term realistic goal because the immediate fame and recognition without the hard work to show for it may prove to be transitory and with no experience they might be overwhelmed by the attention they get and be distracted and thrown of the track.