The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

With the aim of saving construction costs while meeting the electricity needs, the author suggests it would be unnecessary for an electric power company to invest in new generating plants. Nevertheless, while it may be true that circumventing a redundant construction would be cost-efficient, the connection between the given facts and the conclusion drawn is not cogently justified in the paragraph.

To begin with, the author relies on several surveys to conclude that a trend of energy conservation has started to prevail among people. However, since the details of how these surveys were conducted are not provided, it is uncertain whether the validity of them holds. If the sample group for these researches was not chosen randomly or the questions asked were misleading, the results of these might be unwarranted. In addition, the composition regarding age, gender, or income level of people who joined the survey was unclear, hence undercutting the grounds of these results to be generalized to an augmented group of people. As a consequence, without ruling out these possible flaws during the survey process, the outcome of them should not be used as a bedrock of evidence.

Moreover, given the fact that the energy efficiency has been largely enhanced for manufactured home appliances, the author asserts an unlikely expansion of electricity demand. But the reduction of energy consumption of single devices does not necessarily precipitate a decrease in family electricity usage. With the development of technology, people nowadays tend to possess more personal electronic devices, such as cell phones, iPads, personal computer, and FitBits, just to name a few. Accordingly, the per capita energy consumption might not decrease even with an increased efficiency. Also, due to the population growth, the total demand for electricity could continue to increase in the following years.

Last but not least, the author fallaciously contends that the existing electric generating plants would be capable of meeting the demand for the future, simply due to the observation that they have worked well in the past twenty years. Howbeit, this hastily drawn belief is groundless. For instance, chances are that machines inside these plants are more than worn out after twenty years of use. Consequently, a construction of new plant would be required to cater for the electricity generation in substitution of the old ones that break down.

Taking into all the arguments above, it is evident that the author has not provided tenable and persuasive arguments to support the linkage between the evidence and a decline in electricity demand, hereby invalidating the recommendation for the company to not construct new generating plants.