College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain y

Education plays a vital role in ones student foundation and career. Unlike school education, a college education makes us focus on one specialized course. The author prompt recommends that students should be encouraged to pursue courses that interest them rather than the subjects that seem most likely to lead to jobs. In my opinion, I strongly agree with the authors suggestion with the following examples.

First of all, the job market is shifting, in one's decade, one field has high job opportunities the same field may have a recession in another decade. One cannot solely depend on the current trend of the market. For instance, In the 1980s Nuclear energy has rapid growth due to the advancement in nuclear weapons. Consequently, the nuclear engineering branch has high paying jobs. there are a lot of job opportunities with full demand at that time. But, in the 2000s with the development of computer and technology computer engineering has more demand. So, one should choose a course whether it has demanded or not, the student shouldn't depend on the courses which college provides.

Admittedly, let's take an example of the current scenario of engineering students in India. Around 1.3 million students appear for JEE exams which stands for Joint Entrance Exam for getting in engineering colleges. Now after taking admissions, the students do not know how to be prepared for industry-ready. After the course of 4 years, only 13% of that engineering student was suitable for the job. The rest of them were unemployed or switch there business. So the main reason for all this problem is that students are not opting for subjects according to their own choice rather they prefer the advice of another person only. To improve this problem many counseling fairs or awareness programs should be planned by Higher Secondary Schools to provide subjects according to there area of interests.

Furthermore, it will be imprudent to say that students will succeed by only studying the subjects where jobs are available. For example, entrepreneurs like Bill Gates and Steve Jobs can be termed as visionary. They studied Computer science which enables them, rather looking for the job, to create many 100s of jobs for the upcoming students. They studied within their area of interest and went ahead against the flow in that era where construction and oil industries were more prevalent than IT. Also, the invention of electric cars by Tesla.Inc CEO Elon Musk increases its distribution to a larger extent in America as well as Europe making Norway the first country to attain 80 percent of Electric cars on its streets. Therefore, studying within the students' interests can help the sector to make more opportunities for upcoming college graduates.

In conclusion, the students should be decided by themself whether which course to be selected considering the current market trend and taking into account recession.