A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled foo

The author concludes that recalled food was not responsible for the symptoms like vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness in pets by determining the chemicals found in the food were approved by the government. At first glance, it may seem convincing the author but, they're a lot of unwarranted assumptions and flaws in them. The study needs to reexamined due to some flaws in the conclusion.

Firstly, whether the same food that was complained is recalled food? The company to blame on other factors for vomiting and signs of illness it can show that by taking some samples which used chemicals as approved in their samples and tests them they will get positive results. By showing positive results they will blame on some other factors for not to lose companies reputation. So, the government should take samples from current market food and check whether chemicals are using as per approved.

Secondly, It says that chemicals in recalled food are the same as approved chemicals. They mentioned that all chemicals found in food were approved for use in pet food. But, there may be a chance that if the government approved to use 10 chemicals they may use only 7 chemicals. without mixing the rest of the chemicals product quality may vary it can form some other chemical reaction that may have the chance to affect the pets and leads to vomitings, lethargy, and others. So, they should examine whether every chemical is using in that food product or not. Also, they should check whether chemicals using or concentrated or diluted. Without proper research and analysis, we can't assume the company is not responsible for the illness.

Finally, Some chemicals when tested instantly can show positive results but usage from months can lead to negative results. even though approved chemicals are good for pet food, one should examine clearly whether these chemicals lose their value by passing days. Also, the chemicals which approved for pet food was biased for that company, if it is a favor to that company even though they are using cheap chemicals it shows analysis that they are using efficient chemicals.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author can provide evidence and assumptions more accurately we can strengthen that recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms.