Argument Topic :“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improv

The owner of the Movies Galore argument that reducing Operating expenses and reducing the old stock by eliminating all movies which are released more than five years ago leads to an increase in the profits. At first glance, it may seem convincing, but by intricating it there are some flaws and some questions need to be addressed and explained in order to implement the plan.

Firstly, the first question needs to be addressed is, whether implementing the same plan as usual which is implemented in last month in one of the stores in Marston could lead to profits? Without proper reasons behind it one can’t assume the same plan applies successfully in all remaining stores. Perhaps, Marston is a small town where most of the people are farmers and they may be not inclined towards movies, entertainment, and other related stuff. If they generally go to bed at 8-9pm there is no use of store operating till 9 pm So, storing close at 6 pm may eventually reduce operating costs. Own should consider all these facts accordingly, should research whether people are interested in entertainment and what type of environment they are leaving. Because, if another store is operating nearby companies who used to stay in the office till 8 pm. From morning to night, they stay in the office so, if the store operated from morning to evening then there is no use, indeed there may be a chance people come to shop after 6 pm only. Without considering all factors the owner can’t implement the plan in all remaining stores.

Secondly, whether reducing the stock by eliminating movies increase profits? Whether people should buy old movies videotapes or new depends on their interests. It may true most of the people tend to watch new movies but reducing the stock of old movie videotapes impacts negative remark on the store too. If a person comes and asks few movies which are released 15 years back but if it is not present in the store customer dissatisfies and the thing that this store has inadequate stock from next time he may stop to come to this store.

In conclusion, I would think that according to the above explanations, it fails to answer essential questions.