Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through lar

The author prompt recommends that people are less able to focus on one thing, and sorting through large quantities of information and find what's important. the author assumed that both mass media and the internet have caused people's attention spans to get shorter. However it may be true, it is a very debatable topic. In my opinion, I agree with the author's claim through the below examples.

First of all, one can't assume life without the internet, media and various social media platforms. It has both positive and negative impacts on people. For instance, In olden days when there is no internet and media people used to buy daily a newspaper to know what is happening in the state, country, and world. If someone is interested in the sports page he used to refer to that page and study it. But, in newspapers there won't be plentiful information they provide a summary, Indeed after the invention of the internet everyone has a mobile in their hand browsing whatever information they required and they can find plenty of information through the internet. Even though, his attention is limited also through various topics, instead of focusing more on the information required.

Additionally, In a country like India, they have a lot of temples and holy places. In olden days people don't know the routes and don't know anything about the places. But, nowadays with the use of the internet and youtube before planning to any place they are researching more about the place and selecting hotels to stay before only through internet applications. Through google, there are searching a vast number of places and selecting one place which will be convenient for them.

On the other hand, like coin has two flips, mass media and internet in some cases making people's attention spans to get shorter. Not all the information providing through media and the internet are true. For instance, people are blindly believing what they are showing in media and the internet. For suppose, consider an electronic product to increase its sales it offers huge money to media and the internet to advertise their product. people without thinking about that product they are buying and wasting a lot of money.

To conclude, Even though, mass media and the internet enhancing people's ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important it restricts people and making them believe blindly what they have shown. people should focus on information which is provided by the internet and media and check whether they are providing the right information or not.