Seven years ago, homeowners in nearby Brookville community adopted a set of restrictions on how the community's yards should be landscaped and what colors the exteriors of homes should be painted. Since then, average property values have tripled in Brookville. In order to raise property values in Deerhaven Acres, we should adopt our own set of restrictions on landscaping and house painting.

The conclusion might appear logical and convincing at first glance. However, a critical analysis of the justification supplied by the author that after posing restrictions on landscaping and house painting would result in an increase of the value of their property does raise many questions that are not answered by the author in his/her argument. The premises in their current form are not cogent and arguments build too many unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, ideas cited in the premise lead to assumptions that are feeble and susceptible to attacks.

First of all, the author not considered other major factors that might have affected the boom in the price of the property in Brookville community. There can be factors like development around the community. Maybe it is in the central part of the city and closely situated to shopping areas, airports, hospitals, stadiums, parks or any such area which can make it more useful than other communities. May be transportation to other parts of the city is easily available there which can allow easy and cheap movement from one area to another. The author has made a direct connection between an increase in the value of property to the restrictions on landscaping and house painting which is not viable at all.

Moreover, the author has not mentioned any facts about the living environment of Brookville community. Which can be a major factor in deciding the circle rates of that area. The type of people living there, the living standards they maintaining, the economic conditions and many more. For example: if in a community richer people are living and are maintaining high living standards, surely the property value of that area will be ambiguously higher. Hence, it will be wrong to conclude this argument in the absence of these observations.

Additionally, the author has considered the time span of seven years. It will be naive of us to just consider restrictions on landscaping and house painting solely have impacted the increase in property value. In seven years things can change drastically. May be, seven years earlier people used to value house paints more but now they focus more on the surroundings they are living. And people might be more liberal in today's scenario and might not like a unified community.

The author should have done a survey to justify the relationship between the applied restrictions and average property values in Brookville. He should have analyzed whether the factors affecting home prices in the two areas are the same or not. The author should have discussed the location of Deerhaven Acres, a policy of the government to develop the area etc. The author should have provided some additional evidence to support his argument.