Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Student’s assessment is a basic part of education system. It is essential to be determined in order to decide, whether or not the student is prepared for the next stage. The assessment’s criteria measure specific traits and skill of the learner. Focusing on rather abilities than facts guarantees, that the learner is capable to comprehend such information, analyse, criticise and conclude. I mostly agree with the suggestion, that the assessment procedure shall concentrate on skills to demonstrate facts and not only on understanding it due to the following three reasons:

First of all, most schools have the same scoring system, which depends on marks, exams little application. Sometimes, it is time consuming to both understand facts and be able to explain how this fact happened. For instance, in learning language, knowing the origin of each word is just a waste of time. Thus, focusing on theoretical knowledge in such subjects are more beneficial to students, because this will be an indicator mastering a language for example.

Secondly, teaching by doing proved to be the most effective technique to deliver information. Yet, in order to do so, the learner has to be able to not only comprehending facts, but also explaining it. Many sciences were based on understanding facts, explaining why these certainties happen and developing it. For instance, when the Apple has fallen besides Newton, he could possibly understand the fact only – the apple is on the ground – but he actually explained it, analyse it and came to the origin of the gravity. Thus, developing a mere fact that is almost ignorable by everyone else led to the progression of science. Applying this to students, introducing general facts in front of them and watching how they are going to react is the best technique, so that they can learn skills.

Finally, the idea of having abilities is the best engine of any student. Imagine an engineering student, who can build circuits that can solve everyday problems, in order to create these circuits, he has to read some books. Consequently, he will read it passionately, as he knows that, it is not only important to read this book to create something but also, he will be graded on the workability of his project. Unlike another student in the same department, who needs to read a book to get a score in a theoretical exam, that focuses only on assuring, that students understand all theories. Thus, converging on teaching skills will lead to a skilful person, who has abilities rather than thoughts, solid understanding rather theoretical background and speaking of facts rather than opinions.

In conclusion, the assessment’s criteria is complex and subject dependant. Therefore, there is no easy answer without involving other factors such as: the goal of the subject, importance of theoretical and practical knowledge.