Instilling a sense of cooperation in young people is, if not the best, a very good way to prepare them for

leadership roles.

It may be true that competition hinders mutual development of peers

and as a result younger generation may find themselves underprepared

for the challenges they face in their careers in their respective fields. But, the above argument may not

be necessarily true in all the circumstances.

Competition may instill hostility towards each other among peers. If some youngsters are successful

and are gaining

importance, their less successful peers may have intense jealousy towards the successful person. This can

create rift

among them, thus hindering mutual sharing of experiences. Even the most successful person can gain knowledge

and experience by discussion.

That said, competition is not always bad, if taken in the right spirit. Success of one person may

encourage others to to better him/her. This mutual sense of competition encourages each individual to perform

better than the others. For, instance if we consider sports, a sense of competition may encourage a peer of Usain

Bolt to break his world record of running hundered meters in 9.68 seconds. This is definitely a good sign for

improvement of the sport. This can be true even in the case of government, industry or any other field. A sense of

competition among elected represtatives can lead to greater development of their respective constituencies. Each

elected representative in this case strives hard to perform better than others. This is true even in

workplaces. If the best

employee is awarded, recognized and if incentives are provided to him/her, this leads to growth of individuals

as well as the firm they are working in.

It is important not to get carried away by the positives mentioned in the previous paragraph.

Some might

argue that a sense of competition can sometimes prove fatal. If an individual, after repeated failures, comes

to a conlusion that he/she can never be better than his/her counterpart, then he/she may withdraw all efforts

at

improvement. An individual can get totally demoralized. This can have a negative bearing on the succeful person

as well. The successful person now has no competitors and he/she may never try to to improve.

Instead if there was cooperation amongst them, it would have been better for both.

All in all, it seems that instilling either competition or cooperation among young people has both

advantages

and disadvantages as oulined in the previous paragaraphs. It is thus very important to strike a right balance

between

the two. Too much cooperation without competition as well as too much competition without cooperation can

prove to be fatal.

when a piece of work in produced in a field, who is qualified to critique it? No doubt experts within the field have valid opinions, but who else? In my view, whether a critique from a complete outsider if valuable is a question that depends on the nature of the field, which requires more careful examination.

In rigorous sciences, laymen do not have much contribution. A few years ago, a folk scientist alleged that he had established the existence of gravitational waves. it become quite a story when a couple of years ago the gravitational waves was finally experimentally proven to exist. Media everywhere spread that folk scientist’s old story as if he was some sort of prophet. Insiders take him as, well, a joker. you can say black holes exist or do not; you can say whether the number of stars in the universe is odd or even; you can also claim that Einstein’s theory of relativity is right or wrong. you can say whatever you want, but it is does not mater, because science does not need opinion, but proof based on observation and sound logic. Anything involving flawed reasoning or incomplete data, no matter how correct it turns out, fails to stand as a sound theory. Thus, an outsider, without the necessary training or data, contributes literally nothing to this rigorous practice.

The complete opposite is professional sports. The year 2018 was the year of the soccer world cup, the festival for countless “soccer fans” who have only heard the names of two players. they randomly watched a game and decided to support, say, team Germany, and condemn the team for failing to qualify. Or they saw Mbappe, the promising kid from France, dive, and lambasted him for lacking sportsmanship. Or they watched the only game in their, the finals, and were convinced that the referee held bias against Croatia. do their opinion matter? These people hardly know a thing about soccer, but ironically, they matter, even more that those fans that have watched the Champions League their entire lives. Being the most influential sport on earth. soccer establishes its dominance not just because of its most loyas fans, but also because of its continual attraction to new fans. The world cup is a carnival for everyone, beginners or experts. The collective celebration, whether rational or impulsive, is what keeps soccer’s influence pervasive and persistent.