Instilling a sense of cooperation in young people is, if not the best, a very good way to prepare them for
leadership roles.
It may be true that competition hinders mutual development of peers
and as a result younger generation may find themselves underprepared
for the challenges they face in their careers in their respective fields. But, the above argument may not
be necessarily true in all the circumstances.
Competition may instill hostility towards each other among peers. If some youngsters are successful
and are gaining
importance, their less successful peers may have intense jealousy towards the successful person. This can
create rift
among them, thus hindering mutual sharing of experiences. Even the most successful person can gain knowledge
and experience by discussion.
That said, competition is not always bad, if taken in the right spirit. Success of one person may
encourage others to to better him/her. This mutual sense of competition encourages each individual to perform
better than the others. For, instance if we consider sports, a sense of competition may encourage a peer of Usain
Bolt to break his world record of running hundered meters in 9.68 seconds. This is definitely a good sign for
improvement of the sport. This can be true even in the case of government, industry or any other field. A sense of
competition among elected represtatives can lead to greater development of their respective constituencies. Each
elected representative in this case strives hard to perform better than others. This is true even in
workplaces. If the best
employee is awarded, recognized and if incentives are provided to him/her, this leads to growth of individuals
as well as the firm they are working in.
It is important not to get carried away by the positives mentioned in the previous paragraph.
Some might
argue that a sense of competition can sometimes prove fatal. If an individual, after repeated failures, comes
to a conlusion that he/she can never be better than his/her counterpart, then he/she may withdraw all efforts
at
improvement. An individual can get totally demoralized. This can have a negative bearing on the succeful person
as well. The successful person now has no competitors and he/she may never try to to improve.
Instead if there was cooperation amongst them, it would have been better for both.
All in all, it seems that instilling either competition or cooperation among young people has both
advantages
and disadvantages as oulined in the previous paragaraphs. It is thus very important to strike a right balance
between
the two. Too much cooperation without competition as well as too much competition without cooperation can
prove to be fatal.