According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

Author here is providing an explanation about why the movies produced by Super Screen ar not gaining enough attention from the public. He attributes this to the lack of public's awareness about movies of good quality. On first look this argument looks reasonable but on careful examination it is evident that it's taken into account many assumptions which if proven false will render this argument wrong.

First, the editor mentions about the increase in percentage of positive reviews about specific movies and use this to assert that content of movies is not the problem. This point is baseless because percentage is not the right measure to count the increase in positive reviews. What if before last year because of many people going to their movies the reviews were unbiased and count of positive reviews was meager and last year only fans of the production house went to the movies and gave positive reviews. This will imply that the increase in percentage is because of these biased reviews.

Second, the author states that reviews are not reaching to the public. In this age where technology is at its peak, it's fatuous to think that people are not aware of the reviews. There is a possibility that most of the prospective viewers have already read the reviews and considering the past experience they decided not to see the movie. The advertising director provides a vague reason to support this point which can be easily proved to be false.

Third, the director makes an hasty generalization that more budget should be spent on advertising to reach the public. This is completely baseless as without taking into account the views of the critics or the public who saw the movie via DVD's, he concluded that there is no problem with the content and problem lies within the marketing strategy of the production.

To, conclude, I would like to say that if the abovementioned assumptions are true it would make the point of advertising director baseless and fallacious. Proper statistics need to be provided regarding the number of reviews recieved in various years, which could make this argument more cogent.