The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

"United we stand, divided we all", this saying can be applied to every aspect of our lives. I completely agree with the point presented by the author that best way to created leaders is by cooperation not by competition. There are myriad of advantages of teaching teamwork in place of the conventional "survival of the fittest" methodology.

First, good leaders tend to carry the whole team together, by compensating shortcomings of one member with the help of another one. If leaders are created using the competition method they will not be able to draw out the full potential of team because they have no sense of teamwork and don't know how to bring everyone on the same level. On the other hand, if leaders are raised by instilling a sense of cooperation they are better prepared to face the world and lead their group efficiently. They will not try to solve any obstacle they face alone rather develop a solution together to overcome it.

Second, competition can lead to development of characterstics like envy, arrogance etc in one's attitude, which can lead to disturbances in the working of an organization. For example, consider two international soccer teams one of Portugal and other Croatia, both are great teams but their ideologies are totally different. Portugal on one hand depends only on a single striker while Croatia values teamwork. The results of their ideologies is clearly visible in the standings of the world cup, where Croatia is far ahead of Portugal. A similar reasoning can be applied here also, that even though you have the best player in the world without teamwork you cannot cross every hurdle in your way.

I am not saying that there should be no sense of competition among the younglings, because that will make them complacent. There should be a regulated sense of competition so that they strive to do better as a team rather than individually.

Finally, to conclude I would like to say that a sense of collaboration is the most essential thing in a leader and we should try every possible way to encourage that feeling. There should be some competitiveness but not at the cost of teamwork.